Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education Proceedings

December 11, 2023

The regular meeting of the Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education was held on the above date at the Educational Service Center. President, Chad Prieve, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Isaac Dornfeld, Marge Jorgensen, John Kraus, Jr., Mary Kuntz, Maria Mason, Lisa Panzer, Chad Prieve, Gary Spielman, and Joanne Tyjeski. Board members absent: None.

Mr. Prieve led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Jorgensen moved, Spielman seconded, to approve the minutes from the regular meeting on November 13, 2023, and special meetings on November 13 and November 20, 2023, as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Prieve welcomed visitors.

Kraus moved, Jorgensen seconded, to adopt the agenda as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Wilson, Washington Elementary School Principal, presented the School of the Month report for Washington Elementary School. He provided an overview of the objectives of their School Success Plan, reported on the social emotional learning focus areas, and school activities and events.

Mr. Woreck, District Facility and Safety Officer, presented the District Safety Drills report. The state requires school boards to act by January 1 on school safety drills to ensure they are conducted according to their school safety plan.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to officially receive and approve the confirmation of the drills as submitted by the building administrators, as is required by Act 143.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Tronsen, High School Principal, and Mr. Meyer, Director of Teaching and Learning, presented an update on pathways to graduation that include alternative pathways. They reviewed nontraditional credit earning, traditional credits, and at-risk programs. A new School to Career and Alternative Program is being developed for possible implementation in the 2024-2025 school year.

Tyjeski moved, Kuntz seconded, to affirm the direction of the Pathways to Graduation programs as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Ms. Espinoza, High School Student Representative, reported the Key Club, FFA, Latino Hispanic Club, and High School Music Department are busy with community and school holiday events, performances, and activities.

Mr. Prieve reported that the Operations and Teaching & Learning Committees did not meet since the last board meeting and the next meetings are scheduled for January 22, 2024.

Mr. Prieve provided a summary of the Facility Management Planning workshop. Board members shared their perspectives. Mr. DiStefano announced dates for opportunities for community engagement.

Board members shared the engagement opportunities they participated in.

Board members recognized the students who helped at the Second Harvest Mobile Food Pantry recently. They thanked the community and district for the successful food drive and Mr. Ritchart, Auditorium Tech, for his extra efforts with the community organizations and their performances especially during the holiday season.

Mr. DiStefano recognized staff for their work coordinating events during the busy holiday season.

Kraus moved, Tyjeski seconded, the board recess into closed session per pursuant to Wis. Stat. §19.85 (1)(c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility, specifically to discuss specific employees.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Jorgensen, Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, and Dornfeld. Nay-None.

During closed session, there was discussion regarding specific employees.

Kraus moved, Jorgensen seconded, to reconvene into open session.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following resignation: Stanley Walker-Grade 4 Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School (Resignation effective 11/22/23).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following leave of absence requests: Alison Bohl-Grade 5 Teacher-Washington Elementary School (Medical Leave 10/30/23-1/2/24); Olivia Pilsner-Special Education Teacher-Washington Elementary School (Medical Leave 5/4/24-end of the 2023-24 school year); and Andrew Tietz-Grade 4 Teacher-Washington Elementary School (Family Medical Leave 3/11/24-4/8/24).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Kuntz seconded, to approve the following appointments: Alicia Bishop-English Language Arts Teacher-Middle School (LTS 2/28/24-end of the 2023-24 school year); Casey

Conger-Special Education Teacher-High School (LTS 11/30/23-12/15/23 & 1/23/24-2/15/24); Abigail Craven-Art Teacher-High School (FTE start date 1/22/24); Hannah Kasper-Special Education Teacher Grade 4 Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School (FTE start date 1/22/24); Julie Laborde-Grade 4 Teacher-Washington Elementary School (LTS 3/11/24-4/8/24); Annie Lemmenes-Grade 4 Teacher (FTE start date 1/2/24); and Donald (Troy) Marshall-District Facilities and Safety Officer (Start date 1/8/24).

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, and Jorgensen. Nay-None.

Tyjeski moved, Kraus seconded, to approve the payment of financial claims (Voucher #543, #544, and #545) for District Credit Card, ACH File, Net Payroll, Payroll Taxes, WEA Trust Advantage, American Funds, Ameriprise, AXA, AXA Roth, Fidelity, Franklin, Health Savings Account, Health Savings Account (District), Met Life, Sec Benefit Life, Thrivent, WEA TSA, Wisconsin Retirement System, Payroll Related Voucher, and District Insurances, and for a total of \$3,371,201.31. (A listing of these vouchers can be found in the Accounts Payable Check Register.)

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, and Kraus. Nay-None.

Kraus moved, Jorgensen seconded, to adjourn the meeting.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote and the meeting was adjourned at 7:54 p.m.

<u>/s/</u> Chad Prieve. President

<u>/s/</u>

Marge Jorgensen, Clerk